Exchange 2013 Log Files

Okay, so I’ve been totally slacking on my posts. Especially regarding Exchange 2013. I haven’t even written my “Migration Part 2” post. I’ll try to get that done soon. In the mean time…

Running a new Exchange 2013 server? Are you finding that your C: drive is filling up and it’s not apparent what is the cause? Me too! For years I’ve been using this handy dandy tool called WinDirStat that helps me find what files are consuming drive space on my servers. I’ve been using WinDirStat on our Exchange 2013 server for three months cause I knew space was creeping up to 80% consumed so I wanted to see what was causing this. At the beginning of my search I found that C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V15\Logging was pretty large and seemed to be growing. After some light reading I learned that it should plateau and it did at just over 20GB and has been stead for the last two months. But my C: drive keeps filling but WinDirStat isn’t reporting any new large amounts of data. Hmmm… interesting.

I decided to look at WinDirStat and see if there’s some setting for viewing hidden files or some other setting that might reveal the culprit. I noticed there’s an option to view “Unknown” files. So I selected this option. Voila! There it is! 37GB of <Unknown> data. Well, what the heck is that? So I did some searching and found this article on the WinDirStat blog. And after reading it, I got to thinking… have I ever tried running the program as Administrator (you know, right-click > Run as Administrator). No, I don’t think I have. Why not? I don’t know. I’m in the habit of installing Setup files with run as admin but I guess it’s not everyday that I run application exe’s with run as admin. So, I try it… double voila!

Mystery solved. What are the unknown files that are consuming the C: drive? Yup, you guessed it (or maybe you didn’t), C:\inetpub\logs\LogFiles. Geez. I feel like a doofus. I should have guessed this because I have other servers that I run scripts occasionally to cleanup this old data. But I wasn’t sure if there were any precautions I needed to take prior to purging so I found this article titled Exchange 2013 Logging: Clear out the log files. I manually deleted all but the current month’s log files and will create a script to clean up on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

